top of page

W7A/AE-051 (Sugarloaf Mountain)

Many of the summits in the Tucson area are dangerous, either because the terrain is rough and steep and/or they are in areas where there is illegal activity. Because of this, I normally do not bring my family members along. This summit, which is in the Chiricahua National Monument, was a nice, easy hike, family oriented place, where I felt comfortable bringing my family. The terrain etc is a bit different that what I am used to. There were green plants, trees and a decent hiking trail to the top. At the summit there is a fire watch cabin, which made a perfect spot to set up. This was the weekend of the W7A summit to summit event and I wanted to stay for as long as possible. Unfortunately, the rain started rolling in and we had to pack up. We managed to make it back to the truck before the deluge, but still a good time all in all.

Hover Cursor Over Pictures To See Description

bottom of page