top of page

2018-12-30 W7A/CO-119 (Stockton's Hill)

Like most summits near Gleeson AZ, this one a pile of large rocks. The footing can be tough, but when you add a layer of snow, you really have to watch what you are doing. As you drive in you see signs for "Earp Estates"; apparently at one time they were going to put in a housing development. There is not really a huge market for housing in Tombstone AZ, but I guess when times are good people will try anything. I made a linked inverted V, but it must have stretched as all but 20M was way out of tune. I realized this when on 30M and kicked on the built in tuner on my KX1 and made some contacts. I didn't think the wire would stretch that much that fast, so I will be remaking the antenna and trying again.

Hover Cursor Over Pictures To See Description

bottom of page