top of page

W7A/PE-053 (Gunsite Mountain)

The area where this summit is located is on the eastern edge of a fairly large population in Three Points AZ. Although it is one of the northern most SOTA summits in a remote area, I would not call this one remote. As I previously posted, I am a bit burned out the rocky, treacherous summits, but if I want limited travel I have no choice. This summit was not as bad as some of the previous ones. It had quite a bit of grass and scrub on the way up which mitigated the rock slides etc. I wanted to do a second summit as well, but by the time I got there, the temp was already around 100 degrees. With a round trip of more than 2 miles and a near verticle climb on lava rocks, I decided to abort the second summit. I am considering leaving the lava summits for cooler weather, even though I will not get the bonus points.

South, Baboquivari In The Distance.

Hover Cursor Over Pictures To See Description

bottom of page