top of page

W7A/CO-051 (Mercury Mountain)

This summit is east of Granite Peak (I show it in the pics) but unlike Granite Peak this summit was more pleasant to climb. It was about a mile straight line from where I parked and the climb was steady with no real suprises. You can only approach this summit from one side, unless you bring your technical climbing gear. As you can see from pics, the east side is completely vertical rock face. Save for some local FM, I only activate CW. I got a QSL card from another operator who wanted to activate SSB. Since I have never done that I decided to give it a try. I found someone activating SSB on the band my antenna was set up for and I made my first SSB contact which was also my first SSB S2S. So, now, I think I will activate both modes when I am on summits, maybe not all the time, but occasionally anyway.

Hover Cursor Over Pictures To See Description

bottom of page