top of page

W7A/CO-037 (Black Diamond Peak)

I had some issues on my first attempt at this summit, so I took it personally that I get this activated as quickly after that debacle as possible. The first part of the hike was up a relatively steep dirt road that ended in a saddle between this summit and another. The other summit is also a nice climb but it only has a rise of 471 feet, so it falls 29 feet too short to be counted as SOTA summit. The W7A association only recognizes summits with 500 feet of rise or more, something I would like to see changed, so our summits can match up with other summit associations in and out of SOTA, but that is a task for the future. Once at the saddle, there is a bulldozer cut that goes west and trail, about as good as a game trail that goes east. Follow the trail along the side of the summit and up and around. Once you start your climb along the spine of the summit, it has some scrub that has to be crawled under, rocks and up/downs. This is the most difficult part of the climb from a technical standpoint, but once you get past that, the summit was not super difficult. I started using trekking poles, which I really like, but in order to use them, I had to give up bringing along my antenna mast/hiking stick. This presented some challenges with regard to antenna placement. In addition, I have a separate pouch that my antenna components are carried in, which gets hung up on low hanging branches, which gets dangerous, especially when I have vertical exposure. So, I have to devise a mast to put the antenna on and modify the antenna so it doesn't hang up. It seems the only time I think about this stuff is when I am hung up on branches. So, no SOTA, or easy SOTA tomorrow so I can spend some time making these modifications. I normally do not mess with geocaches or summit logs, they are not what I am up there for, but today, the summit log was right there so I went ahead and signed it. I also brought a friend along to show him what SOTA was about. It is kindof hard to try to explain CW to someone who doesn't understand it, but he thought the whole thing was cool none the less.

Hover Cursor Over Pictures To See Description

bottom of page